Syllabus of various exams conducted by UPSC

Yashwant Kale General, UPSC 3 Comments

Syllabus of various exams conducted by UPSC

In the previous article, we discussed about the various exams conducted by the UPSC. We mentioned various exams and their eligibility criteria in the previous article. Here, we are going to discuss about the syllabus of these exams which are going to help a lot to the candidates who are targeting those examinations. We are hoping to give some insights about these examinations so that candidates benefits from this article and can better prepare themselves for the examinations conducted by UPSC.

The exams conducted by the UPSC are ad their syllabuses are given accordingly:

1. Civil Services Examination-

As the exam is divided into two parts; one is the preliminary stage while the other is the mains stage, thus the syllabus is based on these two exams. The

Stage 1: Preliminary-

Preliminary stage exam is the objective exam, which decides the short listing of candidates for the written exams. The Preliminary stage consists of 2 papers of each 200 marks with the time duration of 2 hours each.

Stage 2: Mains-

The mains exams is the latter stage of the Civil services exams which contains these subjects:

a. Paper – I: One Indian Languageb. Paper – II: English
c. Paper – III: Essay
d. Paper – IV & V: General Studies.
e. Paper – VI, VII, VIII & IX: Two subjects from the list of optional subjects which includes the subjects like Law, Geography, Botany, History, Mathematics and many more.

2. Indian Forest Services Examination-

The IFS Exam is held with the following syllabus. The same scene as IAS where the Preliminary Stage and then later on mains exams is being held in the IFS Exams too. The preliminary Examination will consist of two papers of Objective type (multiple choice questions) and carry a maximum of 400 marks in the various subjects. The mains exams contain six papers:
Paper 1- General English – 300 marks
Paper 2- General Knowledge– 300 marks
Paper 3- Optional Subject 1 – 300 marks
Paper 4- Optional Subject 2 – 300 marks
Paper 5- Optional Subject 3 – 300 marks
Paper 6- Optional Subject 4 – 300 marks

3. Indian Engineering Services Exams-

The Syllabus for IES exam is very vast as it has one compulsory subject which deals with English language and General Awareness while other subjects as optional includes Civil Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Electrical Engineering and Electronic and Telecommunication Engineering. The English section in IES Exam is basically designed is such a manner that it is able to test the candidate’s knowledge about the subject and candidate’s proficiency in the subject like Reading Comprehension, Jumbled Sentence, Fill in the blanks, Sentence Correction, Finding errors and omissions, Cohesion in extended text etc. The General awareness sections deals with the day to day affairs of the country.

4. Geologist Examination-

The geologist examinations covers the following syllabus:
General English – 100 marks
Geology Paper I – 200 marks
Geology Paper II – 200 marks
Geology Paper II – 200 marks
Hydrogeology – 200 marks

5. SCRA or the Special Class Railway Apprentices Exams-

The Syllabus for SCRA Exams is covered in three papers, i.e. Paper 1, Paper 2, Paper 3. The Paper1 contains General Ability Test in which the questions related to English, General Knowledge, Psychological Test are being covered. The Paper 2 contains Physical Sciences, which include Physical Chemistry, Inorganic Chemistry, and Organic Chemistry. The Paper 3 contains Mathematics in which Algebra, Trigonometry, Analytic Geometry, Differential Calculus, Integral Calculus and Differential equations, Differential equations, Vectors and its applications, Statistics and Probability are the topics which are covered. Each subject carries the marks of 200 each and the duration of each paper is 2 hours each. Thus, the Total maximum marks are 600.

6. Combined Defence Services-

Likewise, the syllabus for Combined Defence Services is conducted in the three papers. The paper1 contains the questions of English while the paper 2 contains the General Knowledge. The third paper contains the questions from Elementary Mathematics which includes the subjects like Arithmetic, Algebra, Menstruation, Geometry, Trigonometry and Statistics.

These are the six exams which are conducted by the UPSC and their syllabus are mentioned here while the rest five subjects and their syllabus will be discussed later on. The syllabuses of the exams are too vast to explain here and one must go through the topics and the syllabus in details at the notification or the syllabus section which comes while the notification of the exams. The syllabus of the exams should be cared with high sense and should be mugged up.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *