AICTE – History and Structure

Yashwant Kale General Leave a Comment

All India Council for Technical Education

Technical education assumes an essential job in the general improvement of a country thus has been its job in our nation as well. In India, Technical education is granted at various dimensions diploma, certificate, degree, research, PG Diploma, PG Degree, post-doctoral research and so on.


Technical education in India began around the mid-nineteenth century. The real policy choice in pre autonomy time incorporates –

Appointment of the India University Commission: 1902

The issue of the Indian Education Policy: 1904

Governor Generals policy statement 1913

The establishment of – Institute of Sugar- Kanpur, IISC Bangalore, N.C.E. in Bengal (1905), Textile and Leather Technology Kanpur, Industrial schools in different states.

Other pre- autonomy developments incorporate

CABE or a Central Advisory Board of Education: 1943

Preparation of Sergeant report: 1944

All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE): 1945


The All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE) was set up in 1945 by the Government of India. The association was set up as an Apex Advisory Body to direct survey on offices on technical education and to advance and create technical education in the nation.

The National Policy of Education (1986) characterizes AICTE as the statutory specialist for formulation, planning and support of standards and models, quality assurance via accreditation, financing in need zones, checking and assessment, keeping up parity of certification and grants and guaranteeing facilitated and coordinated improvement and the executives of technical education in the nation.

The Government of India – Ministry of Human Resource Development comprised a nationalized gathering to register with the duty of AICTE with regards to the multiplication of technical foundations, upkeep of norms and other related issues.

The domain of AICTE or All India Council for Technical Education – covers program of technical education incorporating research and training in Technology, Engineering, Architecture, Management, Town Planning, Pharmacy, Hotel Management, Applied Arts and Crafts, and Catering Technology and so forth at various dimensions.

As per the arrangements of All India Council for Technical Education act (1987) for the initial five years after its beginning in 1988, the Government of India – Minister of Human Resource Development was the Chairman of the Council. Yet, the full-time advance chairman was delegated on July 1993.

The All India Council for Technical Education has its Headquarters in New Delhi that has the workplaces of the Vice-Chairman, Chairman, and the Member Secretary and is housed into a building having a secured territory of 38542 sq. Ft. situated in Indira Gandhi Sports Complex at Indraprastha Estate, New Delhi.

AICTE Organization Structure

All India Council for Technical Education persistently endeavors to maintain the nature of technical education in the nation.

The NBA or National Board of Accreditation of AICTE intends to keep up the level of a portion of the program offered into the technical Institutions comparable to program that offered in Institutions crosswise over Europe and USA, by instigating a quality auditing framework and building up a datum for estimating the quality and magnificence into the engineering education.

The All India Council for Technical Education contains 5 Bureaus, to be specific:

  1. Approval Bureau
  2. Administration Bureau
  3. Finance Bureau
  4. RIFD Bureau
  5. Policy and Academic Planning Bureau

Apart from this, AICTE has some Cells mentioned below:

  1. e-Governance Cell
  2. CMAT and GPAT Cell
  3. Hindi Cell
  4. Parliament Cell
  5. Internal Audit Cell
  6. Grievances Redressal Cell
  7. Vigilance Cell
  8. Legal Cell
  9. SWAYAM Project Cell
  10. Skill Development Cell
  11. Estate Management Cell
  12. RTI Cell
  13. J&K Cell
  14. EQIP Cell

For every Bureau, there is an Adviser of Bureau Head who is helped by technical executives and another supporting staff. The technical officer of multi-discipline and Council staffs are on assignment or contract from different Government Bodies, University Grants Commission, scholarly foundations and so on.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *