Important points you should know about RRB

Yashwant Kale General, IBPS Leave a Comment

Important points you should know about RRB

Regional Rural Banks are the banking organizations, which operates in different states of India. These RRBs are being created to serve the rural areas with banking and financial services. However, RRB’s can have branches set up for in the Urban Areas for urban operations and thus we can say that the Service areas of RRBs can be urban areas too.


Regional Rural Banks were established under the provisions of an Ordinance passed on 26th September 1975 and under the RRB Act 1976. This act was focused on providing sufficient banking and credit facility for agriculture and other rural sectors. On the recommendations of the Narsimha Committee, RRBs were being established. At the time of 1975, almost 705 of the Indian Population lived in RRBs and thus to provide them with better facility, RRBs were established. The first established RRB was Prathama Grameen Bank. Also on 2nd October 1975, five regional rural banks were set up on with a total authorized capital of Rs. 100 crore, which later augmented to 500 crore. The five commercial banks, which sponsored the regional rural banks during that time, were State Bank of India, Punjab National Bank, Syndicate Bank, United Bank of India and United Commercial Bank.

Purpose and Functions

The main purpose of RRB is to mobilize financial resources from rural and semi-urban areas and grant loans and advances primarily to agricultural laborers, small farmers and rural artisans. The area of operation of RRBs is limited to the area as notified by Indian Government and generally covers one or more districts in a particular State. RRB is also responsible to perform numerous functions.

RRB’s perform various functions in following fields too. These are as follows:

1.Providing banking facilities to rural and semi-urban regions.
2.Providing Para-Banking facilities like locker facilities, debit card and credit cards
3.Carrying out several government operations in the form of disbursement of wages of MGNREGA workers, and pension’s related operations and many more.

Number of Branches

As a result of amalgamation, number of the RRBs has been reduced from 196 to 64. The number of branches of RRBs increased to 17856 as on 31st March 2013 covering 635 districts throughout the country. However, more branches are sure open within this 1 and a half year period.

Banks Participating in CWE Recruitment Process

IBPS RRB CWE III Recruitment Process:

Andhra Pradesh
1. Andhra Pradesh Grameena Vikas Bank
2. Andhra Pragathi Grameena Bank
3. Saptagiri Grameena Bank
4. Chaitanya Godavari Grameena Bank
5. Deccan Grameena Bank

1. Assam Gramin Vikash Bank
2. Langpi Dehangi Rural Bank
• Arunachal Pradesh
1. Arunachal Pradesh Rural Bank

1. Uttar Bihar Gramin Bank
2. Bihar Gramin Bank
3. Madhya Bihar Gramin Bank

1. Chattisgarh Rajya Gramin Bank

1. Dena Gujarat Gramin Bank
2. Saurashtra Gramin Bank
3. Baroda Gujarat Gramin Bank

1. Sarva Haryana Gramin Bank

Himachal Pradesh
1. Himachal Pradesh Gramin Bank

1. Jharkhand Gramin Bank
2. Vananchal Gramin Bank

Jammu & Kashmir
1. Jammu And Kashmir Grameen Bank
2. Ellaquai Dehati Bank

1. Kaveri Grameena Bank
2. Pragathi Krishna Gramin Bank
3. Karnataka Vikas Grameena Bank

1. Kerala Gramin Bank

1. Maharashtra Gramin Bank
2. Vidharbha Konkan Gramin Bank

Madhya Pradesh
1. Narmada Jhabua Gramin Bank
2. Madhyanchal Gramin Bank
3. Central Madhya Pradesh Gramin Bank

1. Manipur Rural Bank

1. Meghalaya Rural Bank

1. Mizoram Rural Bank

1. Nagaland Rural Bank

1. Odisha Gramya Bank
2. Utkal Grameen Bank

1. Punjab Gramin Bank
2. Malwa Gramin Bank
3. Sutlej Gramin Bank

1. Puduvai Bharathiar Grama Bank

1. Baroda Rajasthan Ksethriya Gramin
2. Marudhara Rajasthan Gramin Bank

1. Pandyan Grama Bank
2. Pallavan Grama Bank

1. Tripura Gramin Bank

Uttar Pradesh
1. Allahabad UP Gramin Bank
2. Kashi Gomti Samyut Gramin Bank
3. Baroda UP Gramin Bank
4. Prathama Bank
5. Gramin Bank Of Aryavrat
6. Sarva UP Gramin Bank
7. Purvanchal Bank

1. Uttarakhand Gramin Bank

West Bengal
1. Bangiya Gramin Vikash Bank
2. Uttarbanga Kshetriya Gramin Bank
3. Paschim Banga Gramin Bank


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *