Nobel Awards 2015

Yashwant Kale General Knowledge, SSC, UPSC Leave a Comment

Noble prize is a set of annual international awards that take place in Stockholm, Sweden except for the Nobel peace prize that takes place in Oslo, Norway. The laureates or winners of this award are bestowed with a diploma, a sum of money that the Nobel Foundation decides and a gold medal that is a mixture of gold and silver. These awards are one of the most prestigious awards for scholars in short it is like Oscars for the film industry.

The Noble Prize takes in account fields like medicine, physics, chemistry, peace, economics and literature. These awards were first given in 1901 though it was first instituted in 1895. This award ceremony is quite a posh affair thereby recommends formal attire, the laureates are informed before the ceremony and are brought to the venue a day before the ceremony is to held. After the ceremony a Noble banquet and Noble lecture are held.

These are awards have known to be in controversies as they have been accused of overlooking suitable candidates such as Adam Kirsch, M.K ‘Mahatma’ Gandhi, Arthur Miller, Mark Twain etc. But the 2015 Noble awards were san of such controversies making it quite a pleasant affair. Just before the prize ceremony that is usually in September about 3,000 individuals are given nomination forms by the Nobel Committee that gives importance to the academic work done by the individual in their respective fields. Then a report is prepared on the basis of these forms by the Nobel Committee and submitted to the prize-awarding institutions that short list the winner.

The most unique thing about this shortlisting is that people who are no more as also considered and if they pass the scrutiny are even awarded the noble prize like Peace prize for Dag Hammarskjöld the UN Secretary General in 1967, prize in economics to William Vickrey in 1996 etc.

Noble prize 2015 took place on 10th December 2015 where 11 people were awarded and a few of the winners of Noble prize 2015 are:

Nobel Prize in Physics

For the discovery of neutrino oscillations Takaaki Kajita and Arthur B. McDonald were awarded jointly.

Nobel Prize in Chemistry

For mechanistic studies of DNA repair Tomas Lindahl, Paul Modrich and Aziz Sancar were awarded jointly.

Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine

This award was divided as for their discoveries concerning a novel therapy against infections caused by roundworm parasites William C. Campbell and Satoshi Omura were awarded jointly for the first and the second half was given for discoveries related to a novel therapy against Malaria to Tu Youyou.

Nobel Prize in Literature

For polyphonic writings, a monument to suffering and courage in our time Svetlana Alexievich was awarded this prize

Nobel Prize in Economics

For his work on consumption, poverty and welfare Angus Deaton a micro economist was bestowed with this prize.

The date of the Noble prize 2016 is to be announced on 4th October. Despite the technology improvement this prize ceremony has a severe lack of public and media attention and is not televised live like entertainment awards. So make time and get to know the scholars and their achievements that have gained them this honor.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *