Nobel Prizes 2014

Yashwant Kale General, General Knowledge Leave a Comment

Nobel Prizes 2014

The Nobel prizes follow their legacy back to Alfred Nobel, the innovator of explosive who deserted a trust and a will for constituting grants in 5 classes: Physics, Chemistry, Medicine, Literature, and Peace. Subsequently, a sixth classification of Economics was likewise added to the first recompenses. The prizes have been honored since 1901. A maximum of 3 persons can be honored in each category and the awards are not granted post mortem. Nobel prizes are proclaimed ahead of time but the awards are given on December 10, the commemoration of Alfred Nobel’s demise. Each recipient gets an award, certificate, and 8-million Swedish kroner. The grants are (with the exception of Economics decoration) all supported according to directions of Alfred Nobel. Mass trading prize is given by the Bank of Sweden (Riksbank).

Nobel Prize for Physics 2014

Nobel Prize for Physics 2014 was honored to Isamu Akasaki (Japan), Hiroshi Amano (Japan) and Shuji Nakamura (US).
They dealt with LED’s. Red and Green LED’s were created long time back but white light couldn’t be delivered. By most accounts, 20 years back, these three developed Blue LED (light radiating diode) utilizing Indiaum Gallium Nitride semiconductor (Ingan) Blue +red + Green = White LED and this made way for entrance of LED’s into our homes and work places as famous wellsprings of power. Despite the fact that LED’s are a bit expensive, they are favoured on the grounds that they are exceptionally productive and efficient sources of power.

Nobel Prize for Medicine 2014

Together recompensed to John O’keefe (UK), May—Britt Moser (Norway) and Edvard Moser (Norway) for the disclosure of the mind’s situating framework. Certain Nerve cells get to be dynamic to upgrade our spatial memory and at exactly that point, we can recall things and their definite place around us. In Alzheimer’s, a patient loses his spatial memory too. These 3 researchers’ examination will help towards better understanding of the sickness.

Nobel Prize for Chemistry 2014

Nobel Prize for Chemistry 2014 was mutually granted to Eric Betzig (US), William Moerner (US) and Stefan Hell (Germany) for their work on super-determined fluorescence magnifying lens. Earlier utilized optical micrometers could demonstrate determination upto 0.2 micrometers which is about a large portion of the wavelength of light. On the other hand, super-determined fluorescence magnifying lens can show subtle elements in nanometers.

Nobel Prize for Economics 2014

Nobel Prize for Economics was won by Jean Tirole, a French professor of economics. He has worked on modern association, amusement hypothesis, managing an account and money, and matters of trade and profit and brain research. He planned structures on how Governments ought to manage private telecom, saving money, mfg. industry and so forth without nationalizing them. Emulating his model, numerous creating nations started disinvestment and privatization of Public area units in the 80s and 80s. Tirole is administrator of the leading group of the Jean-Jacques Laffont Foundation at the Toulouse School of Economics, and investigative executive of the Industrial Economics Institute (IDEI) in Toulouse. Tirole has distributed around 200 expert articles in money making concerns and fund, and in addition has also penned 10 books.

Nobel Peace Prize 2014

Nobel Peace Prize 2014 was won jointly by Kailash Satyarthi (India) and Malala Yousafzai (Pakistan).
Kailash Satyarthi is an electrical designer from Madhya Pradesh. He is the head of Bachpan Bachao Andolan (BBA) — Save the Childhood Movement and has been instrumental through his organization in securing the release of 80,000 youngsters from production lines, block furnaces, floor covering making and other fortified work occupations. Indeed managed assaults from nearby mafia while doing that. He has also won the Robert F. Kennedy International Human Rights Award (US).

Malala Yousafzai becomes the second Pakistani to win a Nobel prize. Prior, in 1979, Abdus Salam had won the Nobel prize for Physics. Malala got the prize for supporting young lady instruction and is the most youthful individual to win Nobel (at 17 years old). Prior, Lawrence Braggs had this refinement and he won it at 25 years old years. Malala hails from Mingora, Swat Valley, in Pakistan and came into the spotlight for composing a BBC-blog under the pen name ‘Gul Makai’ (2009). Taliban shot her for her activities supporting training and she has lived in the UK ever since.

Nobel Prize for Literature 2014

Patrick Modiano is a French essayist and author around the subjects of Second World War and Nazism. His most renowned book is the Missing individual. Dissimilar to different awardees, he is not well known outside his nation of origin. Modiano won the Prix Goncourt in 1978 for his novel Rue des boutiques clouds (Missing Person) and the Grand Prix du roman de l’académie française in 1972 for Les Boulevards de ceinture. He additionally won the Prix mondial Cino Del Duca from the Institut de France for his lifetime accomplishment in 2010, and the 2012 Austrian State Prize for European Literature.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *