SSC Combined Graduate Level Tier-1 Exam

Yashwant Kale General, SSC Leave a Comment

SSC Combined Graduate Level Tier-1 Exam

SSC, one of the important Examining body in the country, is responsible for the conduct of various examinations across the country. Among them, most are at national level and some are conducted in different phases so as to shorten the number of candidates. With the high craze of the SSC Combined Graduate Level exam, which is popularly known as SSC CGL Exam, is too conducted in two phases. The first phase is conducted and then the qualified candidates are required to appear in tier 2 of the examination. Here, we are going to discuss about the Tier 1 Examination.

Notifications of the Examination

The notification of the examination comes in the month of January/February and the last date for filling the application form is up to the second week of February.

Conduct of the Examination

The First Level or Tier 1 Examination is conducted in the month of May usually. However, in the year 2014, i.e., this year it was delayed and has been conducted in this month of October. The reason for such delay was the Reexamination of the Tier 1 Examination and Tier 2 Examination of the Year 2013 and due to the Lok Sabha Elections.

Eligibility Criteria

The candidates are required to possess the Graduation degree from a recognized University. However, some of the posts like a Statistical Investigator Grade —II requires the candidates to have a Bachelor’s degree with Statistics as one of the subjects; While for the posts of Compiler too, the students who have studied Mathematics or Statistics or Economics as the compulsory subject during the time of graduation degree are only eligible to apply. The candidates are required to be over the age of 21 and below the age of 27 for the majority of the posts included in the notification. While some of the posts require the candidates to be below the age of 26 like in the case of the posts of Statistical Investigator Grade II.

Syllabus of the Examination

The Tier 1 of the Examination sees the various portions to be covered during the examination. The Examination Paper consists of the Questions from reasoning, Numerical Ability, General Knowledge, and English Language. Each Paper consists of 50 questions each with the marks Weight age of 50 each. Thus, the total number of Questions is 200 while the total Marks are 200. The duration of the Paper is 2 hours. For the Visually handicapped Students, the time duration is 2 hours and 40 minutes. The correct answer carries 1 mark each while incorrect deducts 0.25 marks.
The Reasoning Part includes the question from Verbal and Nonverbal Topics while the Numerical Ability includes the questions from the whole Mathematics portion like Mensuration, Trigonometry, Algebra, Profit and Loss, Height and Distance, Percentage, Ratio and Proportion, Speed and work, Simple and Compound Interest, Time and Work, Geometry and Bar Charts, etc.
The General Awareness includes the questions related to Physics, Chemistry and Biology. It also includes the questions related to the history of India, Constitution of India, Some Marketing or Economics and some current affairs.
The English Language sees the questions like spotting the errors, fill in the blanks, Idioms and Phrases, Comprehension, Antonyms and Synonyms, Spelling Errors and other such.

Cut off Marks

By each passing year, the cut off marks for the Tier 2 examination is increasing in the tier 1 examination. Two years back, the cut off marks for the general category candidates use to revolve around 82 to 84 but more recently it has been seen that the cut off marks has jumped to a new height and in the more recently concluded examination of Tier 1 CGL 2013 saw the cut off marks of 102 in the General category. It indicates the growing popularity of the SSC Exams, among the candidates and the growing talents in the Competition.

Expected Results of the Tier 1 Examination

The result of the tier 1 examination comes into the Media after the month of the conclusion of the Tier 1 Examination. All the candidates have been given their marks and the first notification comes in the form of qualifying candidates for the Tier 2 Examination. While later on, within a week’s time, the candidates whether they are qualified or not are able to see their obtained marks by entering their Roll number in the portal of SSC.

It can be said that the Tier 1 Examination is the first step towards the big Fight for the entry into the various Government jobs.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *