Staff Selection Commission

Yashwant Kale SSC 2 Comments

Staff Selection Commission

Staff Selection Commission or Simply SSC, is the body which is responsible for the recruitment of the non-technical group ‘C’ and Group ‘B’ non-gazette Posts in various Departments and Ministries of the Indian Government.

Establishment of the Body

The SSC or the Staff Selection Commission is the body which was established on 4th November, 1975. The SSC was established with the vision to conduct the examinations for the recruitment process to the lower category posts into the Government offices.
The body was established on 4th Nov, 1975 with the name ‘Subordinate Services Commission’. The establishment of the Commission was nailed down by the reports of the Estimates Committee of the Parliament, which was in fact the 47th report of the Committee. However, the name of ‘Subordinate Services Commission’ was changed to ‘Staff Selection Commission’ on 26th September, 1977.

Functions of the Commission

There are several functionalities of the Commission. Among them are:
• The Commission is mainly responsible for the conduct of the examination for the various recruitment’s
• The recruitment of Group ‘B’ posts in the various departments and ministries of the government offices and the subordinate offices.
• The Recruitment of Group ‘C’ posts in various government and their subordinate offices with the exception of some of the posts which lies outside the jurisdiction of the SSC.
• The commission also prepares the schemes for the recruitment to the Group ‘B’ posts.
• Grade ‘D’ and other such clerical posts are also recruited by the Staff Selection Commission.
• It also conducts the various departmental examinations for the promotion which includes the promotion of Group D to LDC Grade.
• It also conducts the departmental examination from LDC to UDC Grade.
• The Promotion of Grade D Stenographers to Stenographers of Grade C.

Structure of the Commission

The Commission consists of the Chairman and two members along with a Secretary-cum-Controller of Examinations. The appointment of these members of the commission is based on the terms and conditions of the Central Government which is decided and prescribed with the time. The Central Government provides the supporting staff to the commission based on the necessity and demands. The secretary is just under the two members of the Commission. Both the members work under the supervision of the Chairman who heads the structure. Both the members submit the reports and other administrative matters and their reports to the Chairman.

Offices of the SSC

Headquarter of the SSC is located at New Delhi. However, there are several regional and sub regional offices located in different parts of the country. There are seven different regional offices in the country. These offices are located at Allahabad, Bangalore, Chennai, Delhi, Mumbai, Kolkata and Guwahati. The Sub Regional Centers of the Commission are located at Raipur and Chandigarh. The Regional Offices are headed by the Regional Directors each while the Sub Regional Offices are headed by the Deputy Director.

Members of the Commission

At present, the members of the Commission include the following members:
Chairman- A Bhattacharyya
Members- Mr. Sanjay Vikram Singh and D. D. Sharma
Secretary- Dr. Krishan Kumar Dahiya
Dy. Secretary- Sh. T. M. Skaria
Director- Smt. Vandana Sethi

Process of Recruitment through SSC

The SSC is the body which was established under the resolution number 46/1/(S)/74-Estt. (B) which dates back to 4th November, 1975. The SSC conducts the examination for the large number of posts regularly throughout the year. Some of the posts are filled through them by the process of Direct Interviews which are invited through the applications. Such vacancies are required in urgent basis and brought to the notice to the SSC by the other authorities. The Posts which come under such criteria are Store Keepers, Statistical Assistant and many others.

Regional Network of SSC

There are nine regional networks available and the details are as follows:
1.) Northern Region- New Delhi
2.) Eastern Region- Kolkata
3.) Western Region- Mumbai
4.) Central Region- Allahabad
5.) Kerala Karnataka Region- Bangalore
6.) Southern Region- Chennai
7.) Madhya Pradesh Sub Region- Raipur
8.) North Western Sub-Region- Chandigarh
9.) North Eastern Region- Guwahati


The SSC is the examining body which has long served the nation with the conduct of the various examinations and filling up of the various seats in the government organizations. The SSC is the body which serves the government working by providing the work force to them and conducts the examination regularly throughout the year.

Comments 2

    1. Post

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *